The DUFF

fb.jpg

Release date: April 2015

My rating: 7/10 ⭐⭐⭐

Cast: Mae Whitman, Bella Thorne, Robbie Amell, Bianca A. Santos, Ken Jeong (Full cast)

Director: Ari Sandel

In High School labels are unavoidable but it wasn’t until during a party Bianca found out about a new label called the DUFF (Designated Ugly Fat Friend). Her neighbor Wesley, the most popular guy in school, confesses that she is the DUFF in her group of friends. Bianca doesn’t want this label and ask Wesley to make her the “dateable” one. 

This movie has a great deal of teenage drama with a modern twist. It is actually funny to see a modern teenage movie considering that it reflects the time we live in today. To be honest I must say that I am a little worried. It seems like we are addicted to selfies and social media and I don’t really know how I feel about that. Although, the fast developing technology has much to do with it. We have a good amount of excellent teenage drama movies like A Cinderella Story etc. Although, all these movies are from 10 years ago (or around that time), and therefore was it fun to actually see a good teenage movie which presents todays culture.

Mae Withman did a very good job being extremely awkward that even I felt embarrassed sometimes. Some weird things her character did felt too much though, like it was too unrealistic. Robbie Amell did also do a great job, but I must say that I’m not really sold on Bella Thorne. In all the things I have seen her in I have thought she didn’t do a marvelous job and neither in this movie. I think it’s to obvious that she just plays a roll, she and her character doesn’t really convince me that it’s real (just acting). I do however love that Ken Jeong is a part of the movie (you might recognize him from The Hangover). He’s such a funny actor and he always makes me laugh! He is definitely one of the reasons why this movie is funny and a reason why you should watch it!

IMDb-iconYouTube-icon-full_color

Leave a Reply

