How To Train Your Dragon

how-to-train-your-dragon-image_1

My Rating: 7,8/10 ⭐⭐⭐

Release Date: 2010

Cast: Jay Baruchel, Gerard Butler, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, America Ferrera… (full cast)

Directors: Dean DeBlois and Chris Sanders

In Hiccup’s village they learn to kill dragons. Hiccup’s father is the leader of the clan and the best when it comes to killing the beasts. Hiccup does also want to be able to kill dragons but every time he tries he only sabotages something. One day he manage to hit the most dangerous dragon of them all but when he is about to kill it he just can’t. He instead becomes friend with the dragon and names him Toothless. He realizes that dragons aren’t bad, now it’s just time to convince everyone else that too. 

I really really really like this movie! I think it has a very interesting story and I never felt bored. The movie has a fun and compelling beginning, which gives a lot of information without spoiling the rest of the movie. There are neither too many characters and that is a reason to why Hiccup’s story does not become confusing nor messy.

It is basically an unique story (ah don’t we all like one of those) and it’s really good animated. The protagonist Hiccup does truly develop throughout the movie and becomes the hero. I really like it when the little person becomes the hero in the end and disproves everyone. I also think it’s very delightful that a woman was one of the best in the clan, especially when you think back to that time (the viking age) when women probably weren’t even allowed to carry a weapon.

One thing that I missed with the movie was the background story. The protagonist Hiccup’s environment and family were not really explained, not as much as I wanted it to. I have seen the sequel so I do know a bit more about his family and all but the first time I saw How To Train Your Dragon I was a little confused due to the lack of background story.

I think this movie is marvelous for people in every ages because it is a really good animated movie that is worth everyone’s time!

IMDb-iconYouTube-icon-full_colorRenate11

Leave a Reply

