Star Trek – The Motion Picture (1979)

star-trek-main_0


Release Date: December 1979

Time: 2h 12min

Director: Robert Wise

Cast: William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, DeForest Kelley (full cast)

My Rating: 4,5/10 egcpdz


I really tried to sum up the movie but I truthfully didn’t know how, I barely understood the plot… So therefore I choose to take the text from Wikipedia because it was actually quite good:

“The film is set in the twenty-third century when a mysterious and immensely powerful alien cloud known as V’Ger approaches Earth, destroying everything in its path. Admiral James T. Kirk (William Shatner) resumes command of his previous starship—the recently refitted USS Enterprise—to lead it on a mission to save the planet and determine VGers origins.”

Ah yes, 1/12 movies! Due to the fact that this is the first Star Trek movie, does it mean that this movie would be very important to which attitude I would have towards this whole marathon. I was little confused throughout the movie and some events were very messy from my point of view. For being a movie that came out 1979 I would say that the graphics are good and the storyline is unique (for it’s time). For me, whom have seen plenty of movies and lives in a world with great technology, I would say that the whole space/alien world was a little weird and the environment a bit monotonous. The scenes were often way too dragged out and tedious, it could be minutes without anything happening, literally just a spaceship floating around without anything happening at all.

I don’t think there is much to say about the characters because you got no personal connection with them, except with perhaps Decker. They basically just talked or shouted at each other. Both characters and the plot were a bit off and merely nothing special.

For it’s time this movie is something new and extraordinary. I would probably have enjoyed it if I lived  around that time, but because the world and technology has developed, I know there is better movies as well as graphics out there. Then again, I have to think about the time this movie was made and which resources they had.

filmroll-startrek.png

IMDb-iconYouTube-icon-full_colormestartrek

3 thoughts on “Star Trek – The Motion Picture (1979)

Leave a Reply

