Star Trek III: The Search for Spock

poster_thesearchforspock


Release Date: June 1984

Time: 1h 45min

Director: Leonard Nimoy

Cast: William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, DeForest Kelley, James Doohan (full cast)

My Rating: 5/10 egcpdz


We continue following Admiral Kirk and his team on USS Enterprise, and this time they’re stealing the ship in order to find Spock’s body on the Genesis planet. Their mission is to return Spock’s body to his home planet where he can be linked with his spirit, which is currently in McCoy’s mind. On their way they encounter many threats and important decisions has to be made. 

Oh how I wished this movie series would be better and better after every movie, but damn I was wrong. This movie was not really anything special at all. It was definitely not near as good as Star Trek II but still better than Star Trek I. It becomes a clearer and more coherentstar-trek-3-kirk story which is very good, but the problem this time was that the story both was monotonous and boring. Nothing really happened and it just never caught my attention, considering I thought I would fall asleep most of the time (could have been that I saw it in the night too). One thing I thought about though was if I would have thought Admiral Kirk was a hottie if I was old, my conclusion was yeah, I probably would. 😉

This movie felt a little like the “in between episodes” in series, where they just have to get somewhere or do something that in the end will be exciting and interesting. It felt like this movie just was a movie to get Spock so the “real” story could continue in the next movie. Lets hope the next Star Trek will blow my mind!

Read more of my reviews on Star Trek, both Star Trek I and Star Trek II, very exciting, I know right! 

IMDb-iconYouTube-icon-full_colormestartrek

 

3 thoughts on “Star Trek III: The Search for Spock

  1. Travis Ryan says:

    Yeah, Star Trek III can drag on a bit, but I still think the cast carries it well. Gotta say Star Trek IV is my favorite of the bunch just for how silly it is.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

