Big Hero 6 (2014)

big-hero-6-character-poster

October 2014  Ι  1h 42min  Ι  Don Hall & Chris Williams

After a tragic accident Hiro loses one of the most important person in his life (oh wow Disney would never do that…) and is left with an inflatable healthcare robot named Baymax. Hiro transforms Baymax into a superhero in order to prevent a masked man from destroying the city with Hiro’s stolen microbots. To help, he has his friends that even they become heroes.

I’m actually not the biggest fan of this movie. The plot is a little tedious and the whole movie is pretty dark. I wasn’t either a fan of Hiro, and not being a fan of the main character often makes the movie worse. I did however really like Baymax, due to him being both funny and caring.

tumblr_o90cvscwrg1ukg5dyo1_500

It feels very weird not to like this movie that much since I love superheroes but somehow I didn’t feel like this was like an “ordinary” superhero movie where you get to see how one person evolves from being a beginner to the mighty superhero. This story didn’t just come through and I felt like there where just a failed attempt of a superhero movie. Wow, now it feels like I’m really “trash talking” this movie… It wasn’t bad, just a bit tedious. I do also know plenty of people who loves this movie. Just not my cup of tea.

My rating: 6/10

IMDb-iconYouTube-icon-full_colorRenate11

4 thoughts on “Big Hero 6 (2014)

  1. Jason says:

    I liked this movie. It wasn’t the greatest Disney movie ever. Basically, it was Disney’s way of trying to have it seat at the superhero movie table. All the side characters (Hiro’s friends) get shortchanged (which is sad). Overall, it could’ve been better. Also, I loved Baymax. Definitely hard not to fall in love with him.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sbox180 says:

    I can respect your view of it, but I really loved the movie. Given that it was originally a Marvel comic book story, maybe the dark and complicated nature of the story was what put you off. The blending of Marvel writing Disney charm is a bit odd, but that’s what made the movie great in my eyes. It was different enough to stand out, but still a Disney movie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

