Florence Foster Jenkins (2016)

florence_poster_horizontal_quad_uk_501930_ffj_aw

August 2016   Ι   1h 51min   Ι   Stephen Frears 

Florence Foster Jenkins is a movie about a woman who can’t sing but her husband convince her that she has the most beautiful voice of them all. Due to her wealth, Florence Foster can perform in front of big audiences but what she doesn’t know is that the people listening to her actually laughs at her and thinks it’s all a comedy. Meanwhile her pianist Cosmé McMoon tries to become the greatest pianist and also grows very fond of both Florence and her husband St Clair. 

This reminds me a little of X-Factor or Idol or some other singing competition where a person really believes he/she can sing because their friends always said he/she could but the person have in fact a terrible voice. The question is however if the best thing is to just say the truth rather than lying about the person being a good singer.

tumblr_o2p441zcfr1qcd8z7o1_500

Anyhow… The movie was not really my cup of tea. The only reason why I watched it was because I got a free ticket for it, otherwise I probably wouldn’t have watched it, not even when it came out on Blu-ray. I wouldn’t say that the movie was bad, it had some interesting scenes and the story is also quite interesting but I just found it all a bit tedious. I’m more into action or fantasy and this is not even near that. Although, since it’s based on a real story and all the movie became really unique.

I wouldn’t say that it was a comedy because there weren’t many funny things or lines. There were a lot of older people at the cinema and they laughed sometimes so it might have been that I just didn’t get the humor. I was however expecting more comedy. So if you like biography movies then you will probably like this one but if you don’t… well then this movie is probably not for you.

My rating: 4/10

 IMDb-iconYouTube-icon-full_colorRenate11

Leave a Reply

