Ghostbusters (2016)

ghostbusters1920jpg-4856da_1280wJuly 2016   Ι   1h 56min   Ι   Paul Feig

A team of 3 scientists and one MTA (Metropolitan Transportation Authority) worker initiate a ghost hunt business after seeing ghosts in New York. The mayor wants all these events to stay quiet and the Ghostbusters therefore seems like maniacs to the public.  Will they manage to catch ghosts and have a good reputation? 

Hmm… what to say, what to say? Did I expect more? Yes. Did I have quite high hopes? Well, yes. So from what I’ve heard I thought this would be a really funny movie that I would just love. I might have had too high hopes because if I would have thought this movie would be bad then it would have been a happy surprise, since the movie wasn’t bad but it wasn’t super either.

tumblr_of3wvon24k1vnu10go1_400The movie had an interesting start and I enjoyed it. A lot happened in the beginning and the movie was also a little funny. After maybe 1 hour I started to lose interest. The movie became a little uneventful and tedious and at the end of the movie I just wished it would be over. I think this movie was like the original Ghostbusters in that way because I really liked the beginning and even the middle, but when the movie was reaching its end it became tedious, way too dragged out and I just wished it would end. I also think this Ghostbusters movie would have been much better if they had put in more jokes and comedy into it. I thought there were way too few funny scenes.

tumblr_of55o9fyql1r0jkkko2_r1_500I did however really like all the characters. I think Melissa McCarthy is fantastic and she can really make a movie better. Without her I don’t really know where this movie would have gone. Also, even though Chris Hemsworth’s character was special he is just eye candy and I think he’s a really good actor.

(P.S. I was looking for a trailer to this movie to link here and saw that the movie/trailer had so so so much hate. The thing that’s bothering me is that they do not talk about the movie being uninteresting, boring or anything else that would suggest the movie is bad but instead the fact that females are in it and the whole issue is the women. Why do we put people into groups instead of treating everyone equally? It’s when we point out the differences that we become two different human beings…)

My rating: 6/10  👻

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate111

7 thoughts on “Ghostbusters (2016)

  1. Jason says:

    I think I was one of the few who liked this movie. The cast was great and it was tried and true popcorn flick. However, I do have to agree that the bad guy was weak and (quite honestly) the movie itself didn’t need to be made.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

