Alice Through the Looking Glass (2016)

alicettlg_payoff_1-sht_v13_sm201_0May 2016   Ι   1h 53min   Ι   James Bobin 

“Oh, Alice, you always were an irksome, slurvish, interrupting thing! Hahahahaha!” – Red Queen

Hatter still believes his family is alive, but no one else does which makes him go mad. In order to save Hatter, Alice has to travel thorough time and save his family from being killed. A task that is not so easy, and along the way Alice realizes that it can be challenging to meddle with time.  

tumblr_o7rpzcqwex1rv3w3po6_400So it might have been a bad decision to jump into this movie when I didn’t really remember much from the first one, but I had no intention to re-watch Alice in Wonderland, I’m way too lazy for that. Do have to admit that I didn’t really have high hopes for this movie, the first one was good but these sequels don’t usually work. This is a movie I probably wouldn’t watch twice but it was still good and interesting. I think the main problem for me was the main story. I just think it’s a little weird that Alice is supposed to meddle with time (which we all know is a big no no) just because Hatter is upset. Although, I am a huge fan of time traveling so this is a rather suitable story for me. I just like it when we get to see characters in their younger ages and all that.

tumblr_o7loskztxr1rkd2bio2_500I would have liked to see more of Anne Hathaway since she is a brilliant actress, one of my favorites. I did however think it was fun to meet the new character Time. It was a fun character who really improved the movie and Sacha Baron Cohen was fantastic. I do feel like many characters came in the shadow in this movie, there were plenty of characters that I would have liked to see more of. I am however not entirely sure what Alice’s purpose with the whole story was and how it would affect her life. Otherwise I just have to say that the graphics were amazing, it’s a fun story, the characters are fun and they are in very cool environments. The movie is good and enjoyable! 

My rating: 6,5/10 🕗

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate111

2 thoughts on “Alice Through the Looking Glass (2016)

  1. Jason says:

    Good review. To me, the movie really didn’t need to be made. Yes, it was kooky and zany (something befitting a Alice in Wonderland story), but completely unnecessary. The whole time travel stuff was fun, but felt like apart of a different narrative (it really didn’t need the Alice / Wonderland premise). Also….it started with the tarts….come on!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

