Doctor Strange (2016)

drOctober 2016   Ι   1h 55min   Ι   Scott Derrickson

I just have to mention Marvel’s new logo before we jump in to the review. It was the first time I experienced the new logo at the beginning of a movie and I didn’t really fancy it. Don’t get me wrong, it was cool, but I do prefer the old one. Probably because I’m so used to it, but I just loved it so much. I always smiled when it came up because it reminded me of all the awesome stuff Marvel has done. So I do miss the old logo/intro. Anyway, let’s move on to the review! 

Stephen Strange is a great doctor whom after an accident loses the use of his hands. Strange got a tip to go to Kamar-Taj, and there he might be able to heal his injury. He meets the Ancient One and beg her to teach him how to gain power. After some training, Strange has to face the evil Kaecilius but he has yet much to learn. 

tumblr_oeuib0gynh1qiohfro8_500One thing I think Marvel just gets so right is the whole pre-story, and the build-up of the hero’s powers. Doctor Strange had the perfect amount of background story and “receiving your power” story which made the movie both interesting and enjoyable. Benedict Cumberbatch was brilliant as well, which I did think he would be. I don’t know much about the comic Doctor Strange but I really think Ben created an amazing hero. I just think the whole cast was brilliant. The graphics were also amazing and made the whole movie so cool and unique.

tumblr_oev03hvdzj1tgtdrfo3_500I do have to say that there’s some Inception vibe here. At some point I was wondering whether the producer, Doc Strange or I was on drugs because the whole illusion was extreme. When buildings began to merge from all directions, I just became confused. I did also miss the romance. More romance to the people! I just like it when a superhero have a little love story going on, but that might just be me. Overall, I just have to say that it was a really unique, fun and interesting movie. I love that we are introduced to yet another brilliant superhero and I’m looking forward to seeing more of Benedict Cumberbatch as Doctor Strange!

My rating: 7,5/10 👨

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate111

4 thoughts on “Doctor Strange (2016)

Leave a Reply

