Batman & Robin (1997)

11162June 1997   Ι   2h 5min  Ι   Joel Schumacher

Robin doesn’t feel like he is Batman’s partner and with Poison Ivy’s help, they are slowly turning against each other. Alfred is not feeling well and gets a surprise visit from his niece Barbara. There’s also a new villain in town, Mr. Freeze is stealing diamonds so he can cure his wife, and it’s now up to the team to stop Mr. Freeze and Poison Ivy from killing people. 

I don’t really want to think much about which ratings movies have on IMDb because I usually don’t agree with them but I do understand why this movie has a very low rating. It wasn’t the best Batman movie and George Clooney wasn’t the best Bat. I just didn’t feel like he was suited as either Bruce Wayne or Batman. The story itself was also pretty messy and incoherent. It was all a big chunk of mess with one story here and one story there, and oh let’s combine two stories for a moment. I wasn’t either a big fan of Barbara Wilson aka Batgirl. Her story was unnecessary and her character had a very plain and boring personality that wasn’t very likable.

One great thing, or should I say person, was Robin. He’s the one that I felt was the star of the movie, together with Mr. Freeze and Poison Ivy. I just really like the character and Chris O’Donnell does a marvelous job. One thing I’ve noticed with these older Batman movies is that the villains tend to be a bit unrealistic and too extreme psychopaths, comparing to the newer Batman movies and DC Comics tv shows where the villains are more realistic. Other than that, I would say that the movie had some interesting parts (mainly in the beginning) but the movie wasn’t really my cup of tea.

My rating: 4/10

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate111

4 thoughts on “Batman & Robin (1997)

Leave a Reply

