Les Misérables (2012)

maxresdefault3December 2012   Ι   2h 38min   Ι   Tom Hooper

Jean Valjean is a fugitive from slavery who finds his answers in church. He becomes another man so the policeman Javert won’t find him and send him back to slavery. During his hiding as another man, he meets a woman who’s about to die and leave a child behind. Jean Valjean takes care of the girl and she grows up with him as her father. When she is older she falls in love with a man who wants revolution for France. Meanwhile, she and Jean is still running from Javert.  

I remember when this movie came out and the first thing I thought was that I under no circumstances would watch it. You want to know why? I thought it was a horror movie. Can you blame me though, the poster with the girl on it looked just like it would be a horror movie. That is also why I didn’t look into the plot, because I hate horror movies, can’t watch them. I’m so glad I stumbled on the trailer 4 years later because this movie is amazing. It’s a musical, and it’s a damn brilliant one. The music is fantastic and it really tells us about the characters feelings and the story. The cast is also brilliant! We have the amazing Hugh Jackman, Anne Hathaway, Amanda Seyfried, Eddie Redmayne, Helena Bonham Carter and so many more. It’s truly a top-notch cast!

What I also really liked about this movie was how we followed one man throughout the musical, but there were still side stories that were connected to him. I think this made the movie more eventful, coherent and just fun. The movie itself was pretty long, and when they just sing it can be a little bit tedious but that didn’t bother me so much with this movie. It could have been a little shorter but since I enjoyed it so much, I was fine with it. I just think this was such an interesting story that really had me glued to the screen. Amazing movie!

My rating: 8,5/10 🎶

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate2

Leave a Reply

