Rogue One (2016)

los-alamos-poster-tall-1536x864December 2016   Ι   2h 14min   Ι   Gareth Edwards

The Rebel Alliance free Jyn from Imperial captivity and use her to track down her father, the one who helped building the Death Star. Jyn sees a hologram of her father who tells her how they can destroy the Death Star. With the help of the rebels, they travel to Scarif to steal the plans for the Death Star, something that is more difficult than they could have ever imagined. 

A Star Wars standalone movie, yes please! Don’t get me wrong, I do love trilogies but it’s nice to have a movie that you don’t have to wait four years to “complete”. The whole movie really was about a team stealing the Death Star schematics so I don’t think it would have worked as three movies. I did also find this one to be quite long and the movie had a tough start. After some time had gone, the story became so much more interesting and I was glued to the screen. If I would see this story as a whole I would say that it was absolutely marvelous. The fact that Vader also were in it, even if it was for a very short time, was brilliant and really sprinkled some more Star Wars over the movie. 

I think the characters were the ones that made this movie so fantastic. A bit hard to like them in the beginning but as the movie continued, they became so likable and interesting. I also liked how they worked together and became a great team. I was a bit hesitant over Jyn in the beginning but she really grew on me and became on of my favorite characters. K-2SO was however the most brilliant of them all. Rogue One also had a bit more humor than we are used to in the Star Wars universe and I really liked it. It put a unique touch to the movie and made it more enjoyable.

One problem though… I didn’t walk out of the cinema with a smile on my face. It’s not that the movie was bad, I just didn’t like the ending. I really wanted another ending, but I guess I just have to live with it. Other than that, the movie was great and eventful. I would definitely watch it more than once.

My rating: 7,8/10 ⭐

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate2

2 thoughts on “Rogue One (2016)

Leave a Reply

