The Girl on the Train (2016)

maxresdefaultSeptember 2016   Ι   1h 52min   Ι   Tate Taylor

Rachel is a lonely, drunk woman who takes the train every day to watch the life that she always wanted. The girl that she has been watching suddenly goes missing and Rachel might be a suspect. Meanwhile her ex husband and his new wife are struggling to keep Rachel out of their lives. 

I’m actually surprised over how good this movie was. I had a feeling I wouldn’t enjoy it very much but I was wrong, this was a really interesting and enjoyable movie. Emily Blunt is an amazing actress and the fact that she managed to create this crazy, drunk character is astonishing. She does it so well. Haley Bennett, Luke Evans and plenty of other actors were really good as well. I think the cast was spot on. The story was also so interesting and unique. I really wanted to know what happened to the missing girl Megan and as the movie went on the interest became stronger and stronger.

I was having a really hard time knowing who I was having sympathies for and I actually think that’s a good thing, because it really made the movie more mysterious and I couldn’t figure anything out just at the beginning. However, one person I wished would have been more in the movie would be Luke Evans. I think he is a great actor and I think his character got too little screen time. The story could have been a bit more complete if he had a bigger part in it, because his part was a little bit pointless. Other than that I have to say that I enjoyed watching this movie. I would also suggest it to others because I find it worth watching.

My rating: 7,5/10 🚆

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate2

2 thoughts on “The Girl on the Train (2016)

  1. The Animation Commendation says:

    Well, I read the book before seeing the movie and I thought the book was….ok, average, merely good, inferior to ‘Gone Girl’, but still not bad. And I felt the movie was exactly the same: it captured the book perfectly, but since the book itself was flawed, I don’t know if that means the movie was flawed as well or did a good job.

    Anyway, I did enjoy Blunt’s performance.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

