Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961)

breakfast-at-tiffanys-wallpaper-poster-photo-4October 1961   Ι   1h 55min   Ι   Blake Edwards

Holly is a free woman who is living in New York and takes a sudden interest in her new neighbor Paul, the author. They become good friends and do all kinds of things together. Meanwhile, Holly is trying to find someone who can finance a living for her and her brother who is in the military. 

I feel like I have to say this right away, I didn’t really like this movie… I know, I’m surprised too. I mean it has such a good rating, especially for a romantic movie, and I love romantic movies (especially romantic comedies). I just can’t say that I enjoyed watching it. The story was quite eventless, we only really go to a certain level with the main character Holly and her emotions, and the ending had too little happiness. When it was 3 minutes left I became very concerned because nothing had really developed and the movie wasn’t ready for a closure.

What I did like about the movie was the main character Paul (or Frank), I found him very likable and was really rooting for him. I did also like Holly in the beginning. She has such a cool and unique personality which I found very entertaining to watch. However, as the movie went on she just began to bother me and I came to like her less.

One think that I would also like to mention is the title of the movie. Breakfast at Tiffany’s might not be a fitting title because the movie was barely about having breakfast at that shop or anything similar. It kind of fooled me a little because I thought the movie would be more about that. So overall I have to say that this movie was a little slow for me, and it truly hurts me that I didn’t like it more because it’s one of my favorite genre. We can’t however like everything, and this just wasn’t my cup of tea.

My rating: 4,5/10 💍

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate2

5 thoughts on “Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961)

Leave a Reply

