The Breakfast Club (1985)

breakfast-club1February 1985   Ι   1h 37min   Ι   John Hughes

A brain, an athlete, a basket case, a princess and a criminal all got detention for different reasons and forces to come to school on a Saturday. The vice principal Richard Vernon does everything to make them unhappy, which makes these 5 students closer. They discover that they have more things in common than they thought. 

Yes, a movie some might call a classic, a favorite or if you are like me, the movie mentioned so much in Pitch Perfect that you had to watch it. It’s been on my list for ages and I have no idea why I haven’t watched it. Maybe the fact that it’s so old frightened me, because old movies usually do. I’ve become better though and I’ve watched plenty of old movies now, some were really good whilst others were… well not so good. This movie definitely goes in the good category. These types of High School movies where they put together very different characters are very enjoyable and it’s really interesting to see how they go together. I think it also shows that we very often tend to judge people before we get to know them and that we are often wrong about people. The movie presents a great message!

What makes this movie so good apart from the story is also the humor. It’s a funny movie and the character Brian, played by Anthony Michael Hall, was just so funny and definitely one of my favorite person in this movie. The only thing I thought was a bit negative was the environment. It was pretty much the same environment throughout the whole movie and it would have been more enjoyable if there were a little more environment changes. Other than that small thing, I have to say that the cast was great, the story was fun and the music at the beginning/end was fantastic (iconic song). Don’t be like me and wait a couple of years to watch it, do it now! 

My rating: 7,8/10  🏫

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate2

14 thoughts on “The Breakfast Club (1985)

  1. Jason says:

    Good review. Such a classic movie. I never saw it until I was 18 years old (back in 2003). Every interesting look at the various aspects of high school teenagers (from different points of views). Plus, love the ending scene.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. alexraphael says:

    It was yeah. The Easy A post. It references about 3 different John Highes film. I saw maid in manhattan at the cjnema on a date. Had no idea John Hughes was involved at any level.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

