Moana (2016)

moana-fallback_fde4d101November 2016   Ι   1h 47min   Ι   Ron Clements, Don Hall, John Musker & Chris Williams

Moana, or should I say Viana (?), has always been drawn to the sea but her father wants her to stay on the Island, where it’s safe. When the food is suddenly getting bad and the trees starts to blacken, it is Moana’s destiny to save the Island by finding the legendary Maui and return the stolen heart of Te Fiti. 

Oh wow, have I been waiting a long time for this movie… Even if I wanted to watch it in English, I still had to wait ages for it to come out in Sweden. However the wait was worth it because this is a fantastic Disney movie. The animation is incredible which made the whole movie so amazing. I also love the Hawaii environment, the music and the dances. The song We Know The Way by Opetaia Foa‘i and Lin-Manuel Miranda is fantastic and it really reminded me of Hawaii, and my dream is to go to Hawaii so it felt extra special.

The movie had a variety of different scenes and they really came together as one. The transitions between the scenes wasn’t really the best. I feel like it sometimes all of a sudden changed when there should have continued with the scene, but it isn’t really noticeable and it didn’t bother me. Another thing that I really would have wanted was that the pig Pua would have tagged along with Moana on her journey. I mean, Pua was so damn cute! I do however see why they chose the chicken, because Heihei made the movie more fun, but Pua could have come too.

Auli’i Cravalho, who plays Moana, was so good and talented. I really think she created a likable and strong character, and her voice is also magical. I think Dwayne Johnson did a fantastic job as Maui and his voice just matched so well with the character. Moana and Maui is a great team and I really enjoyed watching them together and seeing how their relationship developed. I can just say that I really enjoyed the whole movie and I instantly wanted to watch it again.

My rating: 8,5/10 ⛵

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate1

6 thoughts on “Moana (2016)

  1. The Animation Commendation says:

    You’re from Sweden? Yeah, I know someone on Twitter from there who was waiting forever until the movie was released!

    I love this film and it’s the only one from the Disney Revival era that I really love; everything else I just liked. We Know the Way is my favorite song in the film!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jason says:

    Great review. I personally loved this. Its hard between which 2016 Disney movie I like (either this one or Zootopia). I guess I like both equally. But Moana’s music is awesome and the animation is incredible.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

