Footloose (2011)

1280x720-dljOctober 2011   Ι   1h 53min   Ι   Craig Brewer

Ren moves to a small town after his mother’s death to live with his uncle, aunt and their children. Little did Ren know that this town had forbidden unsupervised dancing and rock music after a horrible accident that occurred 3 years before. Now Ren tries to stand up to the church and change the law so he and the rest of the population can dance freely again.

I’ve had this on my to watch list forever and I really don’t know why I haven’t watched it, because I do love dance movies. This is also a great movie and I can now say I’m glad I have watched it. I have yet to watch the older version of this, the one that came out 1984 but I thought I would start with the newer one and see what I felt. I think the story is really good, even though it would be quite weird if a town forbade dancing, it’s still fun and unique. Like I mentioned before, I do love watching dance movies so that is a major reason why I liked this movie.

Kenny Wormald, who plays Ren, really did a great job with showing how his character from the city didn’t really fit in with this small town. I think the female character Ariel, played by Julianne Hough, wasn’t as exciting and I never really came to like her very much. When it comes to Miles Teller, who if you have been reading my blog for a long time might know that I don’t think he’s a good actor, really surprised me and he actually did a great job in this movie.

So as a non-religious person I don’t really like when the church takes decision and it’s all in the name of God and that’s what God wants bla bla bla (I do respect everyone’s religion, I just don’t think religion should decide or affect the law). That is the main thing that kind of bothered me about the movie. Other than that, I would say this is a very enjoyable movie and the dance and music is very good as well.  I really think it’s worth watching.

My rating: 6,8/10 💃

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate2

6 thoughts on “Footloose (2011)

Leave a Reply

