Passengers (2016)

passengers-bannerDecember 2016   Ι   1h 56min   Ι   Morten Tyldum

Thousands of people are being transported on a spaceship to find a life on a different planet. However 90 years before they are supposed to arrive one capsule opens and the person is awakened. A year later another capsule opens and the two of them starts to fancy each other. Now they have to figure out how to get back asleep so they can wake up when the spaceship is supposed to arrive. 

At first I was really looking forward to this movie, then I heard some spoilers and I was contemplating whether I wanted to watch it or not, but then I decided to give it a chance and I’m actually glad I did. I enjoyed most of the movie and thought it was pretty interesting and romantic. I do also love Chris Pratt and Jennifer Lawrence so that might be a big reason why I liked the movie. They were of course really good in this movie as well. I think they worked very well together and their characters really matched, they were a great fit. The environment on the other hand was very monotonous. They shot the whole movie on this spaceship and well you basically saw the same things throughout the movie, and most of it was white. There could have been some scenes where we got to see this new planet they were heading towards, or maybe their previous lives on earth. There were a little about the girl Aurora’s life but not much. I think it would have made the movie a tad more eventful.

 

The movie was very coherent if I may say so myself and I truly think that was important for this movie. The whole idea was however not that unique, but I’m still glad the majority of the scenes were inside the spaceship and not when they were floating in space. Could be a bit tedious sometimes with the lack of characters but I still think Chris Pratt, Jennifer Lawrence and Michael Sheen managed to lift the whole movie without it being too boring. So overall I would say it was a fun, romantic and interesting movie with cool technology and a great cast. Maybe a bit tedious sometimes but still rather enjoyable.

My rating: 7/10 🚀

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate2

4 thoughts on “Passengers (2016)

  1. Jason says:

    Good review. I would say its a must see movie if you’re a fan of either Pratt or Lawrence. Me, I’m a huge fan of both, so I loved this movie (probably more than most).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

