Iron Fist – Season 1 Review

iron-fist-splash-2-1024x514March 2017   Ι   Season 1   Ι   Scott Buck

Oh have I been waiting for this one. Daredevil, Jessica Jones and Luke Cage have all three been a big success with me and this was the last piece of the puzzle. I really like how they all are associated and especially that Claire (played by Rosario Dawson) is in all four. I really like Claire, she is a badass and I also think her character has blended in well in the four Marvel series, it really doesn’t feel forced or like she doesn’t belong there. Finn Jones was perfect as Danny Rand and I liked how he presented this odd and different character who was supposed to adapt to a life he never had experienced before, or had been away from for a very long time. We also got to meet the character Colleen Wing (played by Jessica Henwick) and I loved her from the moment I saw her, such a cool girl. Colleen and Danny does also fit very well together if you ask me.

I wouldn’t say there was a clear villain in Iron Fist, like Daredevil had Wilson Fisk or Jessica Jones has Kilgrave. I kind of missed that a bit, because I do think it puts a fun touch to a series. However, it was actually a bit fun to see something different as well, so that they are not all the same. The family Meachum’s purpose in this series was a tad confusing and perhaps sometimes unnecessary. I see a very foggy storyline for them and I wasn’t really interested in them either. One thing I missed however was Danny’s involvement in their company, he really came further and further away from that and it made him less human I would say.

The story wasn’t the most interesting I have seen and there were not many happy moments. It didn’t really move on very much or develop which was a bit tedious. I am however interested to see what will happen to Danny and how he will develop as the Iron Fist. I am definitely going to continue watching this series because it was entertaining and I liked it more and more as I continued watching it. Now we hype for The Defenders!

My rating: 7/10 👊

imdb-iconrenate2

2 thoughts on “Iron Fist – Season 1 Review

  1. Jade says:

    Great review! I was avoiding this, given the initial poor ratings from critics. But I’m thinking of giving it a shot before The Defenders. Also, I’m super excited for The Punisher! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

