The Jane Austen Book Club (2007)

originalSeptember 2007   Ι   1h 46min   Ι   Robin Swicord

Five women and one man starts a Jane Austen book club but finds out that they might have more in common than just the love for Jane Austen, because they all seems to have some sort of relationship difficulty. They each have to fix their problems and Jane Austen might be the one with the answers, or maybe the book club is.  

I remember watching this movie when I was younger and having such a huge crush on Hugh Dancy. Such a handsome boy. Can’t say that my crush was as big this time though, maybe my type has changed. Same goes for the movie too, because I actually didn’t enjoy it as much this time as I did when I was younger. I thought Emily Blunt’s character was much more embarrassing this time and I had a hard time enjoying the movie every time it was her scene. Not that Emily was bad, no she was amazing, it’s just her character that I couldn’t stand. I actually didn’t enjoy most of the main characters. They did not make a very good impression on me, which is a shame because it made the movie less enjoyable. Not all characters though, some I really liked, like Hugh Dancy’s character.

I am a big fan of Jane Austen and watching a movie about her and her books is very heartwarming and fun. However, everything wasn’t about Jane Austen and I think that’s good because it really makes the movie more of its own than just something about Jane Austen. We did get to follow each person, some more than others, and that was good. I wouldn’t say every single person had a fun storyline but since we got to see so many, it didn’t really bother me. The movie is overall quite entertaining and pretty chill to watch but it’s not a movie I’m going to watch again in the near future. I do however think it’s worth watching at least once.

My rating: 5,5/10 📚

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate2

4 thoughts on “The Jane Austen Book Club (2007)

  1. Jade says:

    I haven’t seen this in a while, and am going to rewatch it sometime. And… I still have a huge crush on Hugh Dancy. Haha! Nice review, Renate! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

