Say Anything… (1989)

say-anything1April 1989   Ι   1h 40min   Ι   Cameron Crowe

Lloyd is graduating with no other plan but to ask the brightest of them all, Diane Court, to go on a date with him. They slowly starts to fall in love with each other, which might be a problem since Diane is going to college in England. They now have to figure out how much they care for each other and how much they are willing to sacrifice.

I must say that I’m a little bit disappointed and not that impressed with this movie… and now you’re thinking “Renate what’s wrong with you?!”. The problem could have been that I had too high expectations after The Breakfast Club and Sixteen Candles, since I really did like those movies a lot. I guess I thought this one would be similar. Well it kind of was but not really though. I just felt like not much was happening in this movie. I also would have wanted to go in deeper on Diane’s emotions and what she was thinking. I did however really enjoy both Diane and Lloyd. I think Lloyd was a very unique and interesting character and I always wanted to see more of him.

So I really like these romantic movies where two teenagers fall madly in love with each other but I couldn’t really see the chemistry between them. I never got the impression that it was that couple who were meant for each other and no one else. The iconic scene where Lloyd holds up a boombox was also a bit disappointing. I didn’t think she would react the way she did and that let me down a little.  Overall I would say it’s an enjoyable movie and I don’t decline a romantic movie. Did I think I would like it more? Well yes, but it wasn’t a bad movie.

My rating: 5,5/10 ❤️

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate2

5 thoughts on “Say Anything… (1989)

  1. Jade says:

    Aw, glad you still enjoyed parts of it! I personally loved the film. Apart from the soundtrack, it might also be due to my crush on John Cusack? 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

