Riding in Cars with Boys (2001)

riding_in_cars_with_boys_barrymore_3October 2001   Ι   2h 12min   Ι   Penny Marshall

Beverly is a top grade High School student who gets pregnant at 15 with a man who’s not near the one Beverly was supposed to marry. Together they raise a child but Beverly feels like there is more to her life than just raising a child and she does whatever it takes to get a degree. Beverly’s child does however feel more unwanted than ever, which makes both their lives very complicated. 

This is actually a true story. How interesting isn’t it to see how a person’s life got shaped because of one (major) thing. To quote Beverly quoting herself “One day can change your life. One day can ruin your life. All life is three or four big days that change everything.” Even though I felt very sorry for the child due to the mothers behavior, I have to say that I’m very impressed with Beverly and how she fought so hard with the degree, just so they could move to a better city and live a better life.

However, the only thing I actually liked about the movie was Drew Barrymore. If you have followed me for a while you might know that I’m not the biggest fan of true story movies. Maybe I don’t like to see the harsh truth, haha. I just don’t really enjoy them. Drew Barrymore is however so freaking talented and I adore her. She really presented a woman who’s struggling with her life and her goals, and she was just amazing.

The movie to me felt quite uneventful, the environment was pretty dull and there were not many characters that I actually liked. There were not many happy moments and I do get that it’s a true story and you can’t just make happy moments because then it wouldn’t be the truth, but I need some happy moment. Something I liked though was how they jumped from the past and the present, I think it gave an extra touch to the movie and made it a little more interesting. It was an okay movie overall and I did enjoy some parts but I probably wouldn’t watch it again.

My rating: 5,5/10 👪

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate2

Leave a Reply

