Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales (2017)

rich_potc5_header_1_c96068b3May 2017   Ι   2h 9min   Ι   Joachim Rønning & Espen Sandberg

Captain Salazar is after the pirate who cursed him and his crew and the only way to break the curse is to find Jack Sparrow. Meanwhile, Henry Turner is also looking for the legendary Jack Sparrow so he can help him search for the Trident of Poseidon, which is the only thing that will break his fathers curse. They get the most needed help from a woman called Carina, who is also looking for the Trident of Poseidon.

The excitement I felt when I heard there would be a new Pirates of the Caribbean and that Orlando Bloom and Kiera Knightly would return. I absolutely love Will and Elizabeth and the fact that we got to follow their son who is also played by Brenton Thwaites (whom I adore) was amazing. Jack Sparrow is also an icon character and even if he was a bit more drunk than I would have preferred, he still made me enjoy the movie so much. I think it was a shame that Will and Elizabeth were in the movie for a very very very short time but I’m so glad they got a closure. In fact, plenty of characters got that closure that they needed which was great. I have to say that I did love the cast and the villain Salazar was so cool.

One thing I felt was missing in this movie was a thrilling and entertaining story. The beginning and the middle was fun but I never felt glued to the screen and it had some tedious scenes. It also felt like there were quite a lot of forced humor. Don’t get me wrong, some jokes were on point but some just felt way too forced. When the movie reached its ending however… let me just say WOW!! It was so exciting and just amazing, I did really love the whole ending and it made me like the movie a lot more. The last thing I also need to mention is the graphics, just brilliant! It made the move so cool and enjoyable, they really did a great job there. As a whole, I would say that Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales was a good movie, it had its flaws but I enjoyed most of it.

My rating: 6,9/10 💀

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate2