Working at Comic Con London – My Experience

As you may or may not know, I signed up for volunteer work at MCM Comic Con May 2017. I have never done anything similar before and I’m so glad that I’m stepping out of my comfort zone. I’ve met some great people by doing this and it has been a great experience! I even think I met my future husband, but it’s hard to tell who he was because he was in a Spider-Man suit. Anyhow, I thought it would be fun to share my experience and maybe encourage you to do something similar. I signed up for two days, at different areas and let me just tell you that day 2 was freaking unbelievable!!


Day 1 (autograph area)

IMG_3585

Yes, first day! I wasn’t actually that nervous, being the first time I ever volunteer for something like this and my lack of confidence when it comes to speaking English. I had a really hard time finding the office where I was getting the shirt and stuff but after following (or should I say stalking) some people, I found the place. I instantly met some awesome people as well and we were hanging out all day which made this day so fun (instead of me being just alone).

Day one was autograph area and I got to stand by the Power Rangers. It was four of them (Austin St. John, Karan Ashley, David YostWalter Jones). Now you may say I was really lucky to be close to these people but I have never watched a single Power Rangers episode in my life so I had no idea who they were. I do however feel a bit lucky because that was pretty much the only celebrities that showed up (there were maybe two or three more). The area was however so empty because I had the first shift (9:30-2:30) and it was Friday. At least I could breath since the room wasn’t crowded with people. It was a good day, got to stay 40 minutes longer because they didn’t send replacement like they were supposed to and it was kind of tedious to be there but still a cool experience and I’m glad I did it! Got to explore Comic Con after the shift as well and I love seeing all the costumes and merchandise. If you want to hear something cool however, then you should definitely read day two!


Day 2 (photograph area)

So I thought this day was going to be the most boring one because I read that you basically only took bags in the photograph area but I was so extremely lucky and got to have a position where I stood 1 meter from the celebrities and got to show the guests the way out. I feel so lucky for getting that position and being able to be near and talk to actors and actresses. Okay so are you prepared for the people I got to meet? It was Warwick Davis, the old Power Rangers (Austin St. John, Karan Ashley, David YostWalter Jones) and I even got a hug from Karan because I complimented her shoes, Donnie Yen, NCIS:LA stars Daniela Ruah & Eric Christian Olsen and they were so friendly and amazing (definitely the best at interacting with fans out of all the people I saw), Nichelle Nichols, Catherine Tate who said I could call her mommy after I asked her if she could adopt me and K.J. Apa who also agreed to be my best friend. One really cool thing that happened as well was when Scott Adkins had his photo session and I looked behind me and there, no less than 1 meter, stood Luke freaking Mitchell!!!! I mean what?!?! Fangirled a little there because he’s so awesome.

I’m definitely telling you that day 2 was by far the best day and I will forever remember it. Meeting all the actors and actresses was such a fun experience and I’m so lucky and thankful that I got to do it. I did not unfortunately get to go and enjoy Comic Con on the second day because I was at the photograph area all day but that’s okay since I got to look around during day one. After this whole experience I would definitely say that I would do it again, because it was awesome. Meeting so many people with the same interest as you is also fantastic! Keep an eye out for an upcoming Comic Con/London haul as well!

renate2