The Goonies (1985)

goonies_spotlightJune 1985   Ι   1h 54min   Ι   Richard Donner

A group of young boys discovers a treasure map in Mikey’s attic and they decide to go and look for the treasure so they can all save their homes from being wrecked. During their search they stumble on a family of bad guys who are running from the police. The goonies have to run from these bad people, who are also after the treasure, but also avoid all the traps that are ahead. 

I have never seen The Goonies before but I know a lot of people love this movie so I just had to watch it. I believe this is a movie people grew up with and if I would have watched it when I was younger I probably would have loved it too. I didn’t dislike the movie, I just thought it was quite weird and very unrealistic. It still had its charm though and the weirdness kind of made it more enjoyable, and definitely more unique. I actually got a bit of a Home Alone vibe, I know the story’s not really similar but it felt like the same type of movie.

I have to say that I really liked the cast in this movie. Jeff Cohen, who played Chunk, was absolutely brilliant and wicked. Corey Feldman was also really funny and totally weird. I would however say that the movie could have managed without the character Sloth. If the movie wasn’t already a bit weird, he made it even more so (which wasn’t necessary). Don’t get me wrong, I did like him, I just think the story might have been better without him (don’t hate me).

The Goonies was overall a very entertaining and eventful movie. It might have been just a tad too weird and unrealistic for me but I really enjoyed the comedy and the cast were great. Like I said, might have liked it more if I grew up with it but who knows. Would however recommend you to watch it if you haven’t, very chill movie!

My rating: 6/10 💰

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate2

8 thoughts on “The Goonies (1985)

  1. The Animation Commendation says:

    Interesting. I saw this movie for the first time a few months ago and fell deeply in love with it; it actually is one of my favorite films of all time now. I loved all of the boys and thought they acted well (even though sometimes I just wanted to slap “Mouth”, lol)! It’s a quintessential 80s movie and I loved how they embraced that!

    And I’m so jealous of young Sean Astin getting to kiss the older girl, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

