We Bought a Zoo (2011)

wbazDecember 2011   Ι   2h 4min   Ι   Cameron Crowe

Benjamin is a single parent who recently lost his wife. He’s looking for a fresh start for him and his two children Dylan and Rosie and finds it on a farm, where various animals lives. The property also includes a staff which soon becomes very important to his family, along with all the animals. 

So apparently it’s legal to buy a zoo even if you have no experience with animals? Well I guess he was just the owner, but damn that’s cool. If I wasn’t scared of basically every single animal on the planet, I might have done the same, or at least dreamt about it. I have to say that the title really got me though, because I like movies about zoos, like Zookeeper. The funny thing is that this movie is called “A New Start” in Swedish, because they could not just translate the title, no they had to make a new one. I’m actually glad I changed my Netflix language to English because I’m not sure I would have clicked on it if it was called that. Although, the title wasn’t the only reason why I wanted to see this movie. When I saw that both Matt Damon and Scarlett Johansson were in it, I got quite intrigued (which is funny because I’m not a massive fan of either of them). They were great, their characters might have been a bit dull but I think they worked very well together.

The whole story about losing his wife is very sad and it’s heartbreaking to see how it affected the children. I think Matt Damon, Colin Ford and Maggie Elizabeth Jones all did a great job showing how hurt they were and how much they missed their mother/wife. I do however have a small problem with these true story movies because they are often very depressing and I want a movie to make me happy. This movie did have its bright moments and I’m very grateful for that. When it comes to the story though, I have to say that it was a tad boring at its places but I enjoyed most of it and most of the characters were very special and fun. It’s a very good and also entertaining movie. The cast is pretty spot on and the environment is nice. It really is a chill movie, but I have to say that I’m satisfied with watching it just once, even if it was a good movie.

My rating: 6/10 🐯

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate2

2 thoughts on “We Bought a Zoo (2011)

Leave a Reply

