Mary Poppins (1964)

mary-poppins-sequel-disney1August 1964   Ι   2h 19min   Ι   Robert Stevenson

Mary Poppins might be the worlds best nanny and that is exactly what the two siblings Jane and Michael needs. She takes them on adventures only a child could dream of. Along with them is a man with many professions and together they sing their way to happiness. The only problem is their dad Mr. Banks, who doubts Mary Poppins. 

When I was growing up Mary Poppins was quite famous but it was all about Finding Nemo, Beauty and the Beast, Tarzan etc. So I have only watched this movie maybe once before and that is a shame because it’s a fantastic movie. Since Mary Poppins Returns comes out next year, I thought it would be fun to watch this movie again and review it. I can also say that I didn’t remember anything about the movie, so it was almost like watching it for the first time. I think it was such a fun idea how they mixed between animation and real life, it really puts an extra touch to the movie and makes it even more magical. For being a movie that came out 1964, I have to say that the animation is pretty darn good as well.

Julie Andrews (whom I mostly recognize from The Princess Diaries) is absolutely marvelous as Mary Poppins. I think the character is a tad too egocentric, yes she’s a badass character but you know, she really think she’s absolutely perfect, well maybe she is. A character I would consider pretty perfect however is Bert. He’s so funny and weird and Dick Van Dyke is such a talented actor and an amazing singer. It’s actually a pretty spot on cast. When it comes to the story I find it very interesting and entertaining but I do think the movie is a tad too long for me. I just don’t feel like it had to be over 2 hours. I did not enjoy the ending very much either, it was a bit messy for me. The last 5-10 minutes was very good though. Mary Poppins is overall a very fun and entertaining movie, a bit weird yes, but very enjoyable. Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!

My rating: 7,3/10 🌂

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate2

8 thoughts on “Mary Poppins (1964)

Leave a Reply

