The Punisher (2004)

maxresdefault1April 2004   Ι   2h 4min   Ι   Jonathan Hensleigh

Frank Castle is a retired undercover FBI agent who’s looking for revenge after his whole family was murdered. He meets three outcasts along the way and they might be to a bigger help than Frank thought. His main goal is however to punish the people who were responsible for his family’s death. 

This movie has been on my to watch list for way too long and I finally took the time to watch it. I can’t believe I call myself a Marvel fan, haha. This movie is awesome! The Punisher is a very emotional and dark character but I like how you can see that there’s still something good in him. The movie was very eventful and it did also have its funny moments. I would say that the majority of the movie was pretty dark and depressing, but the movie was nevertheless pretty darn good. I think it was the three characters Joan, Spacker Dave and Bumbo that made The Punisher more fun and special. In these darker movies with a dark main character, you really need those weird and special characters to lighten the mood.

One bad thing I did was comparing this one with the Daredevil’s Punisher (from the Netflix series). I should know by now that even if it’s the same character, the story and the presentation of the character can be very different (just look at Spider-Man). I do however have to say that I liked Jon Bernthal more as the Punisher, he had more unique characteristics. Thomas Jane did also do a great job, he just didn’t talk that much. He was however great at showing how he suffered from losing his family. Overall I would say that this movie is badass. Cool characters, cool story, makes you a little depressed but otherwise it’s rather enjoyable.

My rating: 6,5/10 💀

imdb-iconyoutube-icon-full_colorrenate2